Secure ShoppingPrivacy ProtectedTrusted Authority
Helping People Find Foot Comfort, Since 1999.
You have no items in your shopping cart.
Filters
Search
Write your own review
*
*
Bad
Excellent
Existing reviews
Hallux Rigidus Trainer
Guest | 11/5/2021 3:26 PM
Excellent product but I'd suggest on revision: a bit more padding throughout the insole.
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Hallux Trainers
Alan | 8/25/2021 6:29 PM
I have worn the Hallux Trainers for the past few months in my shoes and boots. I have bilateral hallux rigidus. These insoles are better than the fancy insoles prescribed by my foot doctor. I have placed a Spenco insole for added comfort. The metatarsal cushion took time for my feet to adjust. This product has help relieved my pain. For me finding the right shoe insole combination has been challenging.
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Too narrow
Guest | 6/11/2021 10:08 PM
I really wanted these to work but the toe area is way too pointed/narrow. Placed in my Hoka sneakers they don’t cover the toe box and my great toe sit right on the insole’s edge making them very uncomfortable. Sent them back. Very disappointed. Needs a new design that supports toe splay.
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Love these!
Guest | 1/14/2021 2:28 PM
I love these insoles. They have greatly reduced the pain from Hallux Limitus. However, I want to point out that they do set off airport alarms.
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Pretty pleased
Kimberly | 1/12/2021 11:41 PM
I'm pretty happy with these considering I used Dr. Google to diagnose my problem and find these insoles.  I put them in winter hiking boots and went for a 4 mile walk the first day I had them.  Usually my big toe would hurt, then go numb by the end of the walk but with these I was mostly pain free and the numbness never set in.  On an 8 mile hike the metatarsal bump on one side started to bug me but that is preferable to the problem I was having so I'll take it.  Two downsides IMO are the price, yowch, and that the surface of these makes them difficult to get my boots on, it's very grabby fabric.  I put some cornstarch all over the surfaces and that helped but I still must be very meticulous about getting my boot on.  Sizing was correct.  I used the suggestion to remove an insole from the show I planned to wear these in and measure that.
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Effective with Minor Issues
Guest | 1/10/2021 2:30 PM
These insoles definitely let me hike with greatly reduced pain from my Hallux Rigidus.  They do allow some flex at the base of the great toe, but the flex is minimized.  The insoles are fairly thick, so they can only be used in shoes/boots with a roomy forefoot.

To me the top cover fabric provides far too much friction.  It is difficult to get my feet into my boots because my socks hang up on the tops of the insoles.  These insoles would be greatly improved by using a cover fabric that offers less friction.
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Well made
Guest | 12/29/2020 8:14 PM
These hallux trainer insoles are designed to address hallux rigidus and sesamoiditis, both of which I have. The insoles have made quite a bit of difference, especially with the sesamoiditis, which is nearly  unnoticeable while using. My hallux rigidus is still present but much more manageable and tolerable. It beats surgery!
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Finally pain free
Guest | 10/21/2020 5:54 PM
I am so happy I found these. I have been dealing with terrible pain in both big toe joints for years, I love to walk while playing golf but the pain at the end of the round forced me to use carts. After I bought these it’s unbelievable how much of a difference I have felt. I have recommended these to anyone who has felt with big toe pain. Thanks again
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Great Insole for Hallux Rigidus
Connie | 9/22/2020 11:55 AM
I have flat feet so the metatarsal bump to raise my arches works really well.  Most people only get Hallux Rigidus in the right or left foot, but I was blessed and got it in both of my feet.  I suffered with the pain too long to the point of surgery.  Had to have a joint fusion in my right foot.  Now I'm experiencing Morton's Neuroma in my right foot.  I'm doing everything possible to prevent surgery to my left foot.  I currently own 4 pairs of these insoles so I don't have to remove them all the time.  My only disappointment is one of my pairs cracked right where the carbon fiber is, and it's on the left side where I need it the most.  For the price you pay, I would've hoped it would have lasted much longer.  I will continue to purchase these trainers since I love to walk, and it relieves the discomfort of my hallux rigidus.
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
A manager responded to this review
If your insole has cracked, we can replace it if it is within a 6-month time frame, as they should last longer than that!
Helpful, but also flawed
Guest | 6/19/2020 9:02 PM
These insoles helped my hallux rigidus symptoms, but they have a built in metatarsal arch pad which I find uncomfortable because it is too high and firm for me.
Was this review helpful? Yes No (1/2)
Consider evening out the sole thickness
Guest | 2/7/2020 1:59 AM
I would have loved this insole if only the thickness of the sole under the toes matched all the way across. It was thicker under the big toe where the Morton's extension is, but thinner under the rest of my toes. So my foot slid inside my shoe, cramming my outer toes against the outside edge of the shoe. My big toe wouldn't fully stay on top of the extension. If not for this, I would have kept the insole. It would have been perfect for providing rigidity under the big toe for hallux rigidus. I also have morton's neuroma, so the metatarsal arch was nice. If only the sole thickness could be improved... I could use an insole like this in dress shoes even more than in athletic shoes, so I would greatly appreciate this issue with the sole thickness being corrected so that I could purchase the dress shoe version of this insole.
Was this review helpful? Yes No (1/2)
A manager responded to this review
We do have a Hallux Trainer Dress Insole that is not as bulky, so that it fits into dress shoes better than the Sport version. I'm sorry your foot slid around inside your shoe ~ I would recommend using a Tongue Pad on the top or tongue of your shoe to help tighten up the area inside your shoe.
Bought 2 years ago, Buying second pair now
Tara | 1/24/2020 11:39 PM
I've used this insert almost every day the past two years and it has helped my hallux rigidus. My first pair just cracked (metal extension) so just bought my second pair. Work great for me.
Was this review helpful? Yes No (1/1)
Great value including left and right insoles
Guest | 6/23/2019 3:50 PM
Hi
I have hallus limitus almost rigidus in my left toe.   I’ve used several  types of sole plates from flexible to rigid on my left foot only with varying degrees of success.   I’ve recently suffered from some knees problems which seem to be partially caused by my adjusted gait when one sole is stiffer than the other.   I decided to try these hallux trainers to equalize both sides.   It’s great that they come as a pair for a reasonable price.  The insoles themselves are comfy and fit better in my shoes than a plate and the original insoles.   I do find that they flex a bit more than my other plates but he proof is in the pudding.   My gait has improved and I’m not suffering from toe pain which would result with too much flex.  I’ll be buying a few more pairs of these,  but might also try buying both sides of the stiffer turf toe insoles.
Gary,  Shawnigan Lake, BC
Was this review helpful? Yes No (1/0)
Best orthotic trainer
Guest | 7/18/2018 1:25 PM
For active people who still want to take long walks and hiking this is a great product.
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
My Favorite for Hallux Limitus/Rigidus
SUZANNE | 6/6/2018 3:02 PM
Newly diagnosed with Hallux Rigidus and I was in tears trying to find something that worked and kept my toe from flaming up in pain. These took some time to conform to my foot so ease into it a few hours a day. With these on I don't even notice my toe and I am very active on my feet most of the day. Just bought a second pair. They work perfectly with my athletic trainer type shoes which is the most comfortable with this condition.
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
California user
Guest | 5/10/2018 4:49 PM
Good orthotic with two issues: First it can use a bit more cushion. Second, the orthotics cover is quite hot.
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Hallux Trainer insoles
Guest | 4/4/2018 8:59 PM
A foot surgeon x-rayed my feet and diagnosed my condition as Hallux Rigidus and recommended these specific insoles. I ordered one pair and wore them for two weeks and could tell an almost immediate improvement in my foot pain. I ordered 3 additional pairs of the insoles for a total of 4 pr that I now have in all of my regular wear shoes. I am having excellent results with these insoles with a pronounced improvement in my foot pain. I have played and walked 3 - 18 hole rounds of golf on a soft golf course with virtually no pain in my feet. The insoles take some time to get use to and the hump in the middle of the insole at first feels strange but after about of week of wear the insoles feel so comfortable that I would not dream of wearing shoes without them.
Was this review helpful? Yes No (1/0)
So far, so good!
Guest | 4/1/2018 8:22 PM
I have had these for a few weeks now.  Suffer from hallux rigidus in both great toes with significant calcium deposits already formed on "knuckle".  Slipped these into my Vasque hiking boots and have noticed a great improvement in pain while hiking.  Wishing I had tried these a year or two earlier (maybe the calcium would be less).  Planning a three day in the Presidentials last weekend in May and hope these will make it possible.  
So far, so good!
Was this review helpful? Yes No (1/0)
So far so good
Guest | 3/28/2018 4:56 PM
I'm only using my insoles for a couple of weeks and so far so good. I find relief in my big toe pain on both feet, though noticed a bit of increased pain on my instep. Any advice? But I am glad I have these and will continue to use them.
Was this review helpful? Yes No (2/0)
I really wanted to like these...but that bump...
Guest | 2/17/2018 9:39 PM
I've been trying to get used to these for a while. The support for my toe is great, they feel great in my sneaker, with the exception of that metatarsal bump. I've tried going up a size in my sneakers in hopes it would feel better. But I just can't get used to it. I speed through the end of my workout because I simply can't WAIT to get my sneakers off. Not sure what the purpose is of that bump, but it's much bigger than I expected, and it's extremely uncomfortable.
Was this review helpful? Yes No (5/0)
Pain Relief from Hallux Rigidus
John | 2/9/2018 6:57 AM
I have worn many insoles in the past and have found that the Hallux Trainer Sport Insole is the only insole that allows me to function without the pain of hallux rigidus. Best of all, I always receive oustanding customer service and fast delivery of the product.
Was this review helpful? Yes No (2/0)
Daily Support - Works Great
Nicholas | 1/31/2018 12:28 PM
I purchase these after first trying the turf toe molded plates with the Morton's extension here. while those worked very well, but I needed a full insert that could go into all shoes, dress, sneakers etc.

These insoles are great, have a Mortons extension, a very nice breathable fabric, and a metatarsal support in the form of a foam pad embedded in the insert. At first the metatarsal pad was a bit hard to get used to, but now, these are my daily drivers so to speak, and my pain level is the best it has been ever, they are comfortable and I swear my life has changed because of myfootshop.com.

The pad is meant to alleviate the load on the toe joint, and it must be working, because this is working out great. Love the product and the company, can't say enough.

Was this review helpful? Yes No (1/0)
Hallux Trainer insoles
Dianne | 1/4/2018 11:14 AM
This is my second pair of hallux trainer insoles.  I have arthritis in my big toes and these insoles really help me with pain in my feet. I have tried many, many products including custom orthotics. I can wear these all day.

I normally wear shoes that have a large toe box and removable insoles, so the size w8 fits my size 8 shoes.  They are a tight fit with shoes that do  not have removable insoles. I will be buying more.

The first pair was purchased via a different supplier.  My Foot Shop has better customer service and delivers to my box office in Canada.
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Hallix Trainer In soles
Brian | 12/29/2017 6:46 PM
I became interested in this product because of the reviews from customers. With the pain I have as an active workout junky...I was still sceptical...That was until I chatted with MARLENE...talk about customer service...knowledge of products and a A+ attitude..Marlene had it ALL...I just completed my order so I can't yet review the product....bit I'm very confident the product will work. I completed my purchase based on the customer service I received from MARLENE...kudos to her...fabulous employee

Brian
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Hallux Trainer Insoles
larry | 12/2/2017 11:12 AM
Very good company to deal with and helps reduce pain experienced when exercising. Supports the toe so it does not get irritated.
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Hallux Trainer Insoles
Guest | 10/4/2017 11:45 AM
This is my second pair of these insoles.  First set is fine, just wanted a second set to have for various activities.  My big toe joints are much less painful after two hours of tennis twice a week.  

Also, my gait does not seem to be altered while wearing these insoles.

Price is reasonable for this type of product.
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Hallux Trainer Insoles-utility, fit, durability
David | 10/3/2017 11:25 AM
I have used these insoles for approximately 5 years.  I have several pair as I use them for running and I swap shoes each day.  I usually average a run of 5 miles a day 5 or 6 days a week.

The insoles are excellent for running shoes.  I have not used them in everyday shoes.  The insoles are comfortable.  They fit well and sizing directions are accurate.  They do not cause additional wear in a shoe and they do not slip or slide around.  

My particular problem is damage to the cartilage in the metatarsal phalangeal joint in the right foot below the great toe.  The insole maintains sufficient rigidity such that I do not experience any discomfort while running.

I highly recommend the insoles.
Was this review helpful? Yes No (3/0)
Life Saver
Guest | 9/8/2017 7:34 PM
I bought these mainly for my big toe joint and a frieberg infraction. They Work! I have relief at an affordable price. Without these insoles my right foot would throb with so much pain I could barely walk around my home. The quality is beyond what I was expecting; I will be back to buy again and I encourage everyone to do the same.
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Best Insole for Hallux Rigidus
John | 8/2/2017 4:53 PM
An excellent product! Allows me to walk in comfort. Outstanding customer service. Fast shipping. Highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Hallux Trainer Insoles
Richard | 5/7/2017 7:09 PM
I would like to review them but still haven't received the shipment due to a backorder.  
*******************************
We are very sorry that the German manufacturer has been backordered for a couple of months on this product. We can't get them from anywhere else at the moment (May 2017), but have been told that they should be available very soon.
Was this review helpful? Yes No (1/3)
Maybe they help?
Katharine | 4/20/2017 4:39 PM
Jury is still out on these for me. They are thin and fit well in my shoes that have a larger toe box, which is what I use since the pain of the hallux rigidus.  I like the rigid footplate that extends past the great toe. The metatarsal bump is a little bothersome-seems a bit to steep and "pokey". However, that could be a fact that I wore them too long. Definitely help with the painful toe extension
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Great for working out
Guest | 4/12/2017 11:17 AM
I've been using these in crossfit workouts 3x/week for about six months. Due to pain in my big toe joints, I thought I was going to have to get surgery or quit, but these have negated the pain in all but a few movements! The padding means they're in there pretty tight, so for daily use I have the carbon graphite molded, which are easier to slide from shoe to shoe. Either is well worth the $$.
Was this review helpful? Yes No (4/0)
So Far So Good
Philip | 4/7/2017 9:51 AM
I bought these as a last ditch effort to be able to continue my workout routines which involve jumping, running, cross training activities. Certain exercises aggravated the Hallux Rigidis in right foot. I put these in Nike training shoes. I did use both eventhough my Right foot is the affected one as I wanted balance on both sides. It took about 15 minutes of wearing to get used to the metatarsal pad, but these Insoles are the best. They did make the shoe fit a bit smaller so I will either need to try a wider shoe or 1/2 size up shoe next but it is not unbearable.
I would highly recommend these insoles, they are very supportive, they eliminate big toe bend and at least for me allow me to jump rope and run without pain. They are pricey, but will be purchasing another pair or two.
Was this review helpful? Yes No (4/0)
Poor Order Practices - Backorder
Guest | 3/23/2017 9:25 AM
Unhappy with myfootshop.  They allowed me to order a special insole, but did not have the product.  Days passed before i was even notified. They have charged my card, but can't tell me when the insole will be available.  Offered to let me cancel and get refund, but I'm in limbo regarding whether waiting for them or going somewhere else will be more efficient.  I will update this review if myfootshop satisfactorily solves this problem.
******************************************
Dear customer,

I'm sorry if we did not notify you when the Hallux Trainers weren't available. The back-order is from our supplier who is waiting for a shipment from Germany. They have no ETA, so we can't give you an ETA either. So sorry about this!

Also, it is our policy to charge your card at the time of the purchase, even if the item isn't available because we do not store payment information at all. We think it is more secure to not store any payment information, which is why payment is collected when your order is placed.

Thanks for your patience,
Thalia
COE, Myfootshop.com
Was this review helpful? Yes No (1/0)
A manager responded to this review

******************************************
Dear customer,

I'm sorry if we did not notify you when the Hallux Trainers weren't available. The back-order is from our supplier who is waiting for a shipment from Germany. They have no ETA, so we can't give you an ETA either. So sorry about this!

Also, it is our policy to charge your card at the time of the purchase, even if the item isn't available because we do not store payment information at all. We think it is more secure to not store any payment information, which is why payment is collected when your order is placed.

Thanks for your patience,
Thalia
COE, Myfootshop.com
Hallux Trainer Insoles
Guest | 3/8/2017 3:47 PM
I would recommend Hallux Trainer Insoles to anyone suffering from Hullux Rigidus and/or sesamoid bone pain under the great toe. Diffidently get these inserts whether you decide to have surgery or not. Post surgery for Hallux Rigidus I showed these inserts to my surgeon in Vancouver, WA. who was impressed of the quality and price. He said a custom version usually runs about $400. I recently ordered a second pair. One for outdoor activities and one for dress situations. They have fit perfectly into all my shoes.
Was this review helpful? Yes No (3/0)
for a size 7 Mens shoes what size to order
Guest | 3/7/2017 4:07 PM
for a size 7 Mens shoes what size to order
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/1)
Hallux Trainer Insoles
Guest | 2/25/2017 10:51 AM
I really like my Hallux Trainer Insoles.  My feet feel better with them than the $380 custom orthotics prescribed by my podiatrist. The only improvement I could suggest is to make the top surface a little slicker so that my socked foot will slide more easily into the shoe without pulling my sock back.
Was this review helpful? Yes No (1/0)
Everything in one package
Joe | 2/3/2017 2:27 PM
I found these after getting a custom made franken-pair of orthotics to deal with all of my foot issues. It has toe plate for hallux limitus, a support for morton's neuroma, a decent amount of arch support and all in a low profile package that fits into the same size shoe I normally wear. My franken-customs required me to buy bigger shoes to accomodate them and weren't half as comfortable.  

I just bought another pair.
Was this review helpful? Yes No (3/0)
Very good inslole.
Guest | 2/1/2017 11:51 PM
I've used this insole once before but bought it from Oakland Orthopedic for $15 more and it is the exact same product.  Very good deal and shipped fast and in perfect condition, thank you!
Was this review helpful? Yes No (1/0)
Very helpful for my Hallux Rigidus
John | 12/26/2016 8:54 AM
Excellent product. Outstanding customer service. Highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? Yes No (1/0)
Fantastic- barely any pain!
Kevin | 11/27/2016 10:33 AM
These insoles feel a little different at first, but after a while, you get used to it.  I would recommend wearing them for shorter periods at first, not all day.  I have worn them in my work boots and they work just fine, but I believe they are best suited for your athletic/training shoes.  Very well made and I believe they are a great value!
Was this review helpful? Yes No (1/0)
Hallux Trainer Insoles
Guest | 11/11/2016 3:53 PM
Seems to address my problems to a T (as in Turf Toe).  The extension under the great toe was good and did reduce my pain significantly.  Forefoot pain is much improved.  I tend to use these mostly in my running shoes.
Was this review helpful? Yes No (1/0)
Not great for my needs
Mike | 10/5/2016 8:57 PM
These weren't great for my needs. The metatarsal bump was too big, and the arch was also too big. I found the felt metatarsal dancers pads under my existing insoles (and new ones I bought that weren't rigid) better for me....
Was this review helpful? Yes No (1/0)
Good insert for my regular shoes
Karen | 9/20/2016 12:51 PM
I have stage three arthritis in my big toe joints. I put these inserts in a pair of my regular shoes. This insert enabled me to walk in these shoes again without as much pain. I like them because the insert is supportive and also has a cushion and arch support. One word of caution if you are new to inserts... I found that I need a half size larger shoe (or a wider shoe) in order to accommodate thicker insoles. This is because thicker insoles can increase the pressure on the big toe joint as it comes in contact with the top of the shoe.
Was this review helpful? Yes No (4/0)
Hallux Trainer Insoles
Mark | 9/9/2016 11:47 PM
I have recently purchased a pair of the Hallux Insoles and have so far tried them out whilst going for a run and also playing tennis and so far, it has been very good. I have Hallux Limitus in both my big toes and whenever I do load bearing movements, my pain in my toes increases and it sometimes leads to gout, which is quite a painful condition. I had previously bought the carbon plates and that also helped my toe condition but it did result in my runners feeling quite flat so I am hopeful these inserts will fit better...so far, so good!
Was this review helpful? Yes No (1/1)
good for Hallux rigidus
Laura | 8/30/2016 12:33 AM
An orthopedist had recommended use of a Morton's extension for the arthritis in my toe joint.  But the Morton's extension did not stay in place and would not conform to the bottom of my shoe in order to be taped down or otherwise secured.  This product solves the problem.  Like another customer, I need it only for the right foot.
Was this review helpful? Yes No (3/1)
Hallux Trainer Review
Guest | 5/16/2016 11:45 AM
These have really made a difference in the enjoyment of recreational running.  I had tried a few options from the running store, but they really didn't compare to how well these work.  The finish of the product is quite nice.  Thanks to customer service for walking me through fitting and selection questions.
Was this review helpful? Yes No (1/1)
Hallux Trainer Insoles
John | 1/14/2016 12:12 PM
An excellent product to help relieve the discomfort of hallux rigidus. Highly recommend. Outstanding customer service!
Was this review helpful? Yes No (2/0)
Hallux Insoles
Guest | 12/13/2015 1:05 PM
I have struggled with pronounced leg length discrepancy post-hip replacement surgery, 3 years ago.  This has included metatarsaglia and now hallixus rigidus in the non-operative leg/foot.  For the last few weeks I have been using the Hallux Insoles in my very casual shoes and walking shoes.  They seem to be working in enabling me to resume a more active exercise regimen, which is to say I am trying to get back to walking 2 miles a day with out significant pain.  So far they are helping.  Though unfortunately they do not fit in my dress shoes.  
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Thank you
Jacqueline | 11/30/2015 8:04 PM
I ordered these to try to address numerous post surgery problems, second metatarsal.  These were perfect!  I am quite grateful also for the customer service that I received when I called.  Will be ordering more of these orthotics!
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
ONLY NEEDED ONE
Lawrence | 7/21/2015 5:16 PM
The Hallux trainer insoles seem to be working just fine. No pain and I managed to play 18 holes of golf without limping the last 3-4 holes!  However, I am only using the insloe for the right foot.  My left foot is working fine and I do not use it.  I would by more for several shoes I have if I could just by one insole, but at $80 a piece it is hard to justify throwing $40 away.  If I purchased 3-4 @ $45 the company would profit handsomely from reduced cost for only 1 insole.  I not certain but I suspect there are people that only want a right or left foot Hallux trainer. Maybe food for thought for the company to sell only what the customer wants!
Was this review helpful? Yes No (12/1)
very happy with insoles
Guest | 6/24/2015 11:32 AM
I like this much more than the insole I had custom ordered via a prosthetic practice.  Its great for my athletic shoes and a small size would work very well with my dress shoes.
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Good product, poor shipping
Keith | 5/18/2015 5:12 PM
The inserts fit great and really help my feet.
I question this company's commitment to customer service when they offer 2 day Priority mail shipping and then take 3 days to ship.  I sell products online and I ship within one day. They should be able to at least get an item out the door in 2 days. Probably will buy my next pair on ebay.
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/3)
Hallux Trainers
Guest | 1/26/2015 9:28 PM
Aswesome.  I ordered 7 days ago, received my order in 4 days and have been using my inserts for 3 days now.  I'm mostly using them for trail running and trying to overcome symptoms of what my doc describes as functional hallux limitus.  So far, very impressed.
Was this review helpful? Yes No (2/0)
Fantastic for me!
Andrew | 9/12/2014 9:17 AM
I was diagnosed with Hallux limitus in my right foot about 4 months ago and I had waited to see a podiatrist until the pain was so severe that I almost couldn't walk. He recommended the carbon graphite spring plate. It helped a lot with the toe joint pain, but I found it too hard even though it was underneath my regular shoe insoles. My feet, especially the bottoms, because quite sore after walking over 20 minutes. So, I decided to give these trainer insoles a shot. Wow!! They reduce my toe joint pain to almost zero and they are also incredibly comfortable under foot. I generally walk over an hour each day in total and these keep me just about pain-free throughout. I managed to get them into slip-ons, sneakers and my oxfords (always after removing the existing insole). Some shoes are a little snug with these in, but most are just fine with plenty of space. The metatarsal pad felt a bit weird at first, but now I like the feel of it. My shoes range from mens 10 to 10.5. I bought the size 42 insoles, which are the perfect size for me. Even though the problem is only in my right foot I wear the insoles in both shoes. In short, I love these things and I just ordered 4 more pairs!
Was this review helpful? Yes No (11/0)
Blessed relief from debilitating hallux rigidus pain
Guest | 7/16/2014 9:40 AM
A wonderful product.  With this insole (my left big toe's hallux rigidus is the culprit), I can go for hours with no pain, free to perform my normal range of activities, even spending weekends in my garden early in Spring when the heaviest work is done.  My reservation has nothing to do with the quality of the insole: I just wish I could buy the left foot insole only; they're (understandably) expensive, and it's even a bit sad to see such a beautiful piece of craftsmanship, i.e. the right insole,  sit on my bookshelf unused. Maybe we could start a swap- or donation-network of people who need only one.  Or maybe I can donate it to MOMA.  Also: this insole is remarkably durable: I've worn mine every day for over a year, in all weathers, switching it back and forth as needed as I switch  pairs of shoes.  In sum, expensive but worth it: blessed relief from debilitating pain.  
Was this review helpful? Yes No (18/0)
Neuroma sufferers consider thickness...
Guest | 6/10/2014 12:39 PM
My problem is a combination hallux limitus and Morton's neuroma.  With the rigid turf toe plate and metatarsal pad, this product appears perfectly designed to alleviate my problem, however the insole thickness limits the style of shoe I can use it with.  This insole is too thick to wear in shoes as much as one full size larger than my "normal" size, making an already expensive product essentially more expensive.


That said, the (few) pair that can accommodate have increased in comfort ten-fold. The insole only comes in full-sizes; I advise sizing down.

MYFOOTSHOP: Consider contacting the manufacturer and updating the product description for "official" half-size up or downsizing advice.  A help line call was polite but not...helpful.
Was this review helpful? Yes No (9/1)
Hallux Trainer Insoles
Guest | 6/26/2013 6:44 AM
This is my first experience wearing rigid insoles.  They are comfortable, fit well and do the job.  I got them to wear primarily for hiking and activities that cause discomfort in the big toe joint.

They are worn inside shoes that lace.  I tried them in loafers and they felt a little too tight and that is understandable.  Meanwhile I have purchased a second pair.
Was this review helpful? Yes No (6/0)